Disaster assistance extended for regional Queensland

Disaster assistance is now available to seven more flooded local councils following extreme monsoonal rainfall and flooding across Regional Queensland.

Support has been approved through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) in the local government areas of Burke, Doomadgee, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mareeba, Mount Isa, and Townsville.

This assistance will provide financial support for counter disaster operations aimed at public safety and the restoration of essential public assets such as roads and bridges to get the communities back on their feet.

The Commonwealth and Queensland Governments have worked closely over the past few weeks to support 26 councils across Queensland.

It’s important Queensland communities know that all impacted local government areas are being supported, no matter how remote, with assistance to clean-up and recover.

The jointly-funded DRFA assistance is available in the local government areas of Barcaldine, Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Burke, Carpentaria, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Doomadgee, Etheridge, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Longreach, Mackay, Mapoon, Mareeba, Mornington, Mount Isa, Napranum, Northern Peninsula Area, Palm IslandPormpuraawTownsville, Whitsunday, and Winton.