Queensland communities share in $16 million for resilient infrastructure

Regional and remote parts of Queensland have been approved for almost $16 million to rebuild infrastructure damaged by the 2019 monsoon trough event to a more resilient standard.

As part of the Commonwealth and Queensland Governments’ $134.5 million infrastructure package, the latest round of funding has been allocated to 46 resilience projects that will ensure communities can better withstand extreme weather events.

Communities in the Barcoo Shire Council, Barcoo Shire Council, Burdekin Shire Council, Cairns Regional Council, Carpentaria Shire Council, Cassowary Coast Regional Council, Cook Shire Council, Croydon Shire Council, Douglas Shire Council, Hinchinbrook Shire Council, Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council, Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council, Longreach Regional Council, McKinlay Shire Council, Richmond Shire Council, Townsville City Council, Whitsunday Regional Council, Winton Shire Council, Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council areas will benefit from infrastructure that can better withstand extreme weather events.

Funds will also be used to repair walking tracks in Conway National Park and access roads to Clement Eastern Beach.

These projects are being delivered through the $242 million Category D exceptional circumstances package jointly funded by the Commonwealth and Queensland governments under the Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.