Queensland communities share a further $12 million for resilient infrastructure

$12 million has just been announced for a further 26 resilient infrastructure projects in regional and remote communities impacted by the 2019 monsoon trough event. This funding is in addition to the more than $81 million already approved for stronger, more resilient infrastructure.

Communities in the Aurukun Shire Council, Cook Shire Council, Croydon Shire Council, Douglas Shire Council, Hinchinbrook Shire Council, Mornington Shire Council, Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council, Richmond Shire Council, Townsville City Council and Winton Shire Council areas will benefit from roads that can better withstand extreme weather events.

Funds will also be used to repair sections of walking trails in the Wooroonooran National Park

These projects are being delivered through the $242 million Category D exceptional circumstances package jointly funded by the Commonwealth and Queensland governments under the Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.