Disaster assistance available for flooded Queensland Communities

Disaster assistance is now available for 19 local councils in regional Queensland, impacted by recent wet weather events.

Support has been activated for the first of the regions affected by monsoon activity during December and January, through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Councils can receive assistance to help repair roads and other essential public infrastructure, as well as covering the cost of counter disaster operations like evacuation centres.

So far, the 14 Local Government Areas activated for assistance for this event are: Barcaldine, Barcoo, Boulia, Burdekin, Carpentaria, Cook, Croydon, Diamantina, Etheridge, Kowanyama, Mackay, Mapoon, Mornington, Napranum, Northern Peninsula, Palm Island, Pormpuraaw, Whitsunday, and Winton.

This assistance will alleviate stress and go to local councils to allow them to get on with their recovery efforts.

Local councils across the region are working closely with the Queensland Reconstruction Authority to identify where assistance is needed, particularly to repair vital infrastructure as quickly as possible.

All levels of government will continue to work together to support regional communities as local governments progress their requests for funding assistance.