Personal Hardship Assistance extended to more flood affected Moreton Bay residents

Residents in another 15 localities in the City of Moreton Bay can now access financial support following recent heavy rainfall and flooding.

Acknowledging the extensive local impacts, the suburbs of Arana Hills, Beachmere, Burpengary East, Caboolture, Dayboro, Eatons Hill, Highvale, Joyner, Laceys Creek, Lawnton, Samford Valley, Samford Village, Strathpine, Warner and Wights Mountain have been activated for Personal Hardship Assistance through joint Commonwealth-state Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Personal Hardship Assistance also remains available for flood affected Bray Park residents.

The Personal Hardship Assistance Scheme includes grants of $180 for individuals and up to $900 for a family of five or more to cover the costs of essentials like food, clothing and medicine.

The scheme also offers a number of other financial measures to help eligible residents make their homes safe to live in and to reconnect essential services.

Moreton Bay Council is also receiving DRFA support for their counter disaster operations and the reconstruction of essential public assets following ex-Tropical Cyclone Kirrily.

To apply, residents can visit or phone the Queensland Community Recovery Hotline on 1800 173 349.

The Queensland Reconstruction Authority continues to monitor local recovery efforts and will activate further DRFA support where required.

A total of 12 local government areas across Queensland have been activated under the DRFA in response to ex-Tropical Cyclone Kirrily, which first made landfall near Townsville 25 January.

This includes Burdekin, Charters Towers, Cloncurry, Hinchinbrook, Lockyer Valley, McKinlay, Moreton Bay, Palm Island, Richmond, Townsville, Western Downs and Winton, the varied locations highlighting the expansiveness of the weather system.