North Queensland Natural Disasters Mitigation Program

Expressions of interest have now closed.


The North Queensland Natural Disasters Mitigation Program (NQNDMP) aims to help councils in North and Far North Queensland reduce their disaster risk and assist in reducing the growth of insurance costs for residents, businesses and the community.

The Queensland Government has fully funded the $10 million NQNDMP as part of its commitment to making our communities safer, stronger and more resilient.

Funding through the program is available to 33 councils and one town authority in high risk, cyclone-prone coastal areas with population centres within 50 kilometres of the coastline, from Bundaberg north to the Northern Territory border.

Communities in North and Far North Queensland are affected by natural disasters every year and the program provides an opportunity to reduce those impacts and create more disaster resilient communities.

Examples of eligible projects include initiatives to encourage residents to make their homes more resilient; studies to better understand a community’s disaster risk; new or upgraded drainage systems, storm water detention, levees and culverts; and planning and design of infrastructure and non-infrastructure projects to help reduce the impact of future natural disasters.

Eligible councils had until 21 February 2022 to submit their expressions of interest, with shortlisted applicants to be invited to submit a more detailed application.


The NQNDMP’s objective is to deliver projects that aim to reduce disaster risk and therefore may assist in reducing the cost or growth of insurance costs for residents, businesses or the community, for example by:

  1. reducing or mitigating natural hazard risk
  2. deriving intelligence to enable an accurate assessment of risk
  3. informing delivery of future risk reduction or mitigation activities.

To achieve more disaster resilient communities, applicants should consider two priority outcomes:

  • use consistent methodologies and frameworks in relevant impact assessments
  • identify costs and benefits associated with hazard management to inform risk reduction activities.

Further information for applicants, including instructions on how to apply, can be found in the NQNDMP Guidelines 2021-22.

Eligible applicants

  • Aurukun Shire Council
  • Bundaberg Regional Council
  • Burdekin Shire Council
  • Burke Shire Council
  • Cairns Regional Council
  • Carpentaria Shire Council
  • Cassowary Coast Regional Council
  • Cook Shire Council
  • Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Douglas Shire Council
  • Gladstone Regional Council
  • Hinchinbrook Shire Council
  • Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Isaac Regional Council
  • Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Livingstone Shire Council
  • Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Mackay Regional Council
  • Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Mareeba Shire Council
  • Mornington Shire Council
  • Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council
  • Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Rockhampton Regional Council
  • Tablelands Regional Council
  • Torres Shire Council
  • Torres Strait Island Regional Council
  • Townsville City Council
  • Weipa Town Authority
  • Whitsunday Regional Council
  • Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council.


The following guidelines provide detailed information about the NQNDMP.

Expressions of Interest (EOI)

Expressions of interest must be submitted to by 18 February 2022. For assistance with completing the EOI, please contact your Recovery or Regional Liaison Officer.


For enquiries, please contact your Recovery or Regional Liaison Officer. Alternatively, email


Key documents and forms