Mary Regional Resilience Strategy

The Queensland Government has partnered with the Wide Bay Burnett Regional Organisation of Councils (WBBROC), Sunshine Coast Regional Council and Noosa Shire Council, to deliver the Mary Regional Resilience Strategy which uses a coordinated catchment approach.

WBBROC is made up of Bundaberg Regional Council, Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council, Fraser Coast Regional Council, Gympie Regional Council, North Burnett Regional Council and South Burnett Regional Council. 

The Mary region is well-versed in dealing with natural disasters from catchment-wide flooding to fast-moving bushfires, as well as severe storms and tropical cyclones.

The purpose of the Mary Regional Resilience Strategy is to develop a consistent and coordinated approach to managing natural disasters that will enhance community safety and resilience across the Mary River region.

Implementation of the Strategy is being overseen by WBBROC in partnership with Sunshine Coast Council, Noosa Shire Council, Gympie Regional Council, Fraser Coast Regional Council.