Darling Downs Regional Resilience Strategy - Project update

Project purpose

By 2022, every region across Queensland will be part of a locally-led and regionally-coordinated blueprint to strengthen disaster resilience. Regional resilience strategies and local resilience action plans will help to keep Queenslanders safe by providing a coordinated approach to identify and prioritise disaster resilience actions.

Multi-hazard approach

The Regional Resilience Strategy for the Darling Downs Region will use a locally led, regionally coordinated and state facilitated approach with multi-sector stakeholder participation to address the following hazards:

  • cyclone (severe storm and wind) 
  • bushfire 
  • flood 
  • heatwave
  • earthquake.

Steering committee

The Project Steering Committee for the Darling Downs Regional Resilience Strategy is comprised of the Darling Downs South West Council of Mayors (DDSWCOM).


The geographic extent of the Darling Downs Regional Resilience Strategy is the boundaries of the combined area four project partner councils.

Council partners

The Darling Downs Regional Resilience Strategy is a partnership with the following councils:

  • Goondiwindi Regional Council
  • Southern Downs Regional Council
  • Toowoomba Regional Council
  • Western Downs Regional Council.

Project update

  • Completed project actions
    • co-design and regional strategy workshop, Goodiwindi (28 July 2021)

    • co-design and regional strategy workshop, Toowoomba (21 July 2021)

    • co-design and regional strategy workshop, Warwick (11 June 2021)

    • initial project meeting with Western Downs, Goondiwindi and Southern Downs (October 2020) and Toowoomba (February 2021)

  • Next steps
    • finalise draft of regional resilience strategy
    • finalise local resilience action plans
    • draft strategy development (August 2021)
    • proposed project deliverables to include: a community profile; a multi-hazard, multi-sector approach; Queensland Emergency Risk Management (QERMF) Process 1 support as required; Department of Environment and Science Sector Adaptation Plans; a Regional Resilience Strategy; and a Local Action Plan per council.