Fitzroy and Capricornia Regional Resilience Strategy - Project update

Project purpose

By 2022, every region across Queensland will be part of a locally-led and regionally-coordinated blueprint to strengthen disaster resilience. Regional resilience strategies and local resilience action plans will help to keep Queenslanders safe by providing a coordinated approach to identify and prioritise disaster resilience actions.

Building on the Fitzroy Flood Resilience Strategy

This multi-hazard approach will build on work completed by project partners to develop the initial Fitzroy Regional Resilience Strategy released in January 2020 as one of the four pilot projects delivered under Resilient Queensland. The original project focused on flood and the Flood Warning Infrastructure Network, while this project has a multi-hazard approach.

Multi-hazard approach

The Regional Resilience Strategy for Fitzroy and Capricornia will build upon the flood focus of the previous work to apply a locally led, regionally coordinated, and state facilitated approach to also address the following hazards: 

  • cyclone (severe storm and wind) 
  • bushfire 
  • earthquake
  • heatwave.

Steering committee

The Project Steering Committee is comprised of the Central Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (CQROC).


The geographic extent of the Fitzroy and Capricornia Regional Resilience Strategy is the boundaries of the combined area of the six local governments of the CQROC member councils.

Council partners

The Regional Resilience Strategy for the Fitzroy and Capricornia region is a partnership with the following councils:

  • Banana Shire Council
  • Central Highlands Regional Council
  • Gladstone Regional Council
  • Livingstone Shire Council
  • Rockhampton Regional Council
  • Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council.  

Project update

  • Completed project actions
    • regional strategy workshop, Woorabinda (22 July 2021)
    • regional strategy workshop, Banana Shire Council (22 June 2021)
    • CQROC meeting endorsed Terms of Reference (31 May 2021)
    • regional strategy workshop, Livingstone Shire Council, Yeppoon (17 May 2021)
    • regional strategy workshop, Gladstone Regional Council, Gladstone (7 May 2021)
    • project meeting with CQROC to discuss opportunities to advance resilience work with a multi-hazard approach (December 2020)
    • individual councils project meeting to discuss opportunities to advance resilience work with a multi-hazard (November 2020 – February 2021)
  • Next steps
    • proposed project deliverables include: a community profile; a multi-hazard, multi-sector approach; Queensland Emergency Risk Management (QERMF) Process 1 support as required; Department of Environment and Science Sector Adaptation Plans; a Regional Resilience Strategy; and a Local Action Plan per council.


The Regional Resilience Strategy will be formulated through information gathering from stakeholders who play a role in regional resilience and who have the ability to contribute knowledge skills and actions towards resilience improvement. Participation is at the discretion of the local governments. The Queensland Reconstruction Authority (QRA) Resilience team will consult with local government on participation by stakeholders outside their organisations. For the Fitzroy and Capricornia Region the stakeholders may comprise:

  • Federal 
    • National Drought and North Queensland Flood Response and Recovery Agency 
  • State
    • representatives from local or regional branches of state agencies such as the Department of State Development Infrastructure Local Government and Planning;
    • representatives from local or regional jurisdictions of state agencies such as QFES, Queensland Police Service, Department of Transportation and Main Roads, and Queensland Health
    • representatives from local or regional jurisdictions of state-wide asset owners or providers such as Aurizon, Telstra, Ergon Energy
    • representatives from local government bodies such as the Local Government Association of Queensland; or
    • invited representatives with special expertise such as Department of Environment and Science, regional Land and Sea Rangers or University experts
  • Regional 
    • representatives from the Fitzroy Basin Association 
    • District Disaster Management Groups (DDMGs)
    • members of the Fitzroy Basin Working Group 
    • allocated representatives from QRA – Regional Liaison or Recovery Officers
  • Local 
    • Local Disaster Management Groups (LDMGs) and subordinate groups such as Recovery Groups
    • all local government staff with responsibilities across the lines of resilience and at various levels of seniority
    • local and regional traditional owner groups 
    • local and regional disaster management professionals.


Image gallery

Related project: The Fitzroy Resilience Strategy - Flood (pilot project)

The original Fitzroy Regional Resilience Strategy was one of the four pilot projects for Resilient Queensland and is part of the Queensland Government’s commitment to support every region across the state with an individually-tailored regional resilience plan by 2022. In 2019-20, the Queensland Government partnered with six councils to deliver the Fitzroy Regional Resilience Strategy, which uses a collaborative catchment approach for best practice management of flood warning infrastructure.

The purpose of the Strategy is to provide a consistent and coordinated approach to manage flood warning infrastructure throughout the region that will enhance community safety and resilience. Future actions for the Fitzroy Regional Resilience Strategy will include an integrated, multi-hazard and multidisciplinary approach to coordinating resilience actions across the Fitzroy and Capricornia region.

The Strategy has been developed in consultation with Central Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (CQROC); Banana Shire Council; Central Highlands Regional Council; Isaac Regional Council; Livingstone Shire Council; Rockhampton Regional Council; Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council;  with input from supporting stakeholder agencies including the Bureau of Meteorology, Fitzroy Basin Association and SunWater.