Wet Tropics Regional Resilience Strategy - Project update

Project purpose

By 2022, every region across Queensland will be part of a locally-led and regionally-coordinated blueprint to strengthen disaster resilience. Regional resilience strategies and local resilience action plans will help to keep Queenslanders safe by providing a coordinated approach to identify and prioritise disaster resilience actions.

Multi-hazard approach

The Regional Resilience Strategy for the Wet Tropics Region will use a locally led, regionally coordinated and state facilitated approach with multi-sector stakeholder participation to address the following hazards:

  • cyclone (severe storm and wind) 
  • bushfire 
  • flood 
  • heatwave
  • earthquake.

Steering committee

The Project Steering Committee is comprised of the Far North Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (FNQROC).


The geographic extent of the Wet Tropics Region Resilience Strategy is the boundaries of the combined area of the six coastal local governments of the FNQROC member councils.

Council partners

The Regional Resilience Strategy for the Wet Tropics region is a partnership with the following councils:

  • Cairns Regional Council
  • Cassowary Coast Regional Council
  • Douglas Shire Council
  • Hinchinbrook Shire Council
  • Tablelands Regional Council
  • Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council.

Project update

  • Completed project actions
    • regional strategy workshop, Cairns (17 June 2021)
    • endorsement of Terms of Reference at FNQROC meeting (14 June 2021)
    • co-design Big Map workshop hosted by Queensland Reconstruction Authority (QRA) in Port Douglas to coincide with the FNQROC (April 2021)
    • initial project meetings between QRA Resilience team and individual councils (October - December 2020)
  • Next steps
    • gain endorsement of drafted regional resilience strategy
    • finalise local resilience action plans
    • proposed project deliverables: a community profile; a multi-hazard, multi-sector approach; Queensland Emergency Risk Management (QERMF) Process 1 support as required; Department of Environment and Science Sector Adaptation Plans; a Regional Resilience Strategy; and a Local Action Plan per council.


The Regional Resilience Strategy will be formulated through information gathering from stakeholders who have the ability to contribute knowledge skills and actions towards resilience improvement. QRA's Resilience team will consult with local government on participation by stakeholders outside their organisations. For the Wet Tropics region, the stakeholders may comprise:

  • Federal
    • Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority 
  • State
    • representatives from local or regional branches of state agencies such as the Department of State Development Infrastructure Local Government and Planning;
    • representatives from local or regional jurisdictions of state agencies such as Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES), Queensland Police Service (QPS), or Department of Transport and Main Roads (DTMR) and Queensland Health
    • representatives from local or regional jurisdictions of state-wide asset owners or providers such as Aurizon, Telstra, Ergon Energy
    • representatives from local government bodies such as the Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ); or
    • invited representatives with special expertise such as Department of Environment and Science, regional Land and Sea Rangers or University experts
  • Regional
    • representatives from the Terrain (Wet Tropics) Natural Resource Management (NRM); and
    • allocated representatives from QRA – Regional Liaison or Recovery Officers
    • representatives from local government bodies such as the broader FNQROC members
    • representatives from regional industry bodies such as Tourism Tropical North Queensland and Tropical Coast Tourism, Canegrowers and the like.
  • Local
    • all local government staff with responsibilities across the lines of resilience and at various levels of seniority
    • business and Landowners at local level
    • community groups
    • local and regional traditional owner groups; and
    • local and regional disaster management professionals.