North West Regional Resilience Strategy - Project update

Project purpose

By 2022, every region across Queensland will be part of a locally-led and regionally-coordinated blueprint to strengthen disaster resilience. Regional resilience strategies and local resilience action plans will help to keep Queenslanders safe by providing a coordinated approach to identify and prioritise disaster resilience actions.

Resilience approach

Every region has unique resilience issues and needs. Efforts in this North West region will build on the 'After the Flood' Recovery Strategy and focus on supporting local government in the areas of connectivity, infrastructure resilience, social wellbeing, natural resource management, and disaster management resources. These issues will be addressed for flood and the following additional hazards: 

  • cyclone (severe storm and wind) 
  • bushfire 
  • earthquake
  • heatwave.

Steering committee

The Project Steering Committee for the North West Regional Resilience Strategy is comprised of the North West Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (NWQROC) member councils.


The geographic extent of the North West Regional Resilience Strategy is the boundaries of the combined area of the eight local governments of the NWQROC member councils. Etheridge Shire Council will participate in the Far North Hinterland to Gulf Regional Resilience Strategy.

Council partners

The North West Regional Resilience Strategy is a partnership with the following councils:

  • Burke Shire Council
  • Carpentaria Shire Council
  • Cloncurry Shire Council
  • Doomadgree Aboriginal Shire Council
  • Flinders Shire Council
  • McKinlay Shire Council
  • Mount Isa City Council
  • Richmond Shire Council.

Project update

  • Completed project actions
    • Council meetings to understand strategic issues and actions needed to build resilience 
    • endorsement of the Terms of Reference by NWQROC (March 2021)
    • initial Queensland Reconstruction Authority (QRA) Resilience project meetings with NWQROC and councils (December 2020) 
  • Next steps
    • project deliverables include: a community profile; a multi-hazard, multi-sector approach; Queensland Emergency Risk Management (QERMF) Process 1 support as required; Department of Environment and Science Sector Adaptation Plans; a Regional Resilience Strategy; and a Local Action Plan per council.

Image: Endorsement of Terms of Reference by the NWQROC, Julia Creek, March 2021.

Endorsement of Terms of Reference by the NWQROC, Julia Creek, March 2021.

Image: Big map workshop, Mount Isa, April 2021.

Mount Isa - Big map workshop - April 2021


The regional resilience strategies will be formulated through information gathering from stakeholders who play a role in regional resilience and who have the ability to contribute knowledge skills and actions towards resilience improvement. Participation is at the discretion of the local governments. The QRA resilience team will consult with local government on participation by stakeholders outside their organisations. For the North West Gulf Savannah Region the stakeholders may comprise:

  • Federal 
    • National Drought North Queensland Flood Response and Recovery Agency 
  • State  
    • representatives from local or regional branches of state agencies such as the Department of State Development Infrastructure Local Government and Planning;
    • representatives from local or regional jurisdictions of state agencies such as Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES), Queensland Police Services (QPS), Department of Transport and Main Roads (DTMR) and Queensland Health
    • representatives from local or regional jurisdictions of state-wide asset owners or providers such as Aurizon, Telstra, Ergon Energy
    • representatives from local government bodies such as the Western Queensland Alliance of Councils (WQAC) or Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ) 
    • invited representatives with special expertise such as Department of Environment and Science, regional Land and Sea Rangers or University experts
  • Regional  
    • representatives from Mount Isa to Townsville Enterprise Zone (MITEZ)
    • representatives from the Southern Gulf Natural Resoure Management (NRM)
    • allocated representatives from QRA – Regional Liaison or Recovery Officers
  • Local 
    • all local government staff with responsibilities across the lines of resilience and at various levels of seniority
    • business and Landowners
    • community groups
    • local and regional traditional owner groups; and
    • local and regional disaster management professionals.

Related projects