Fitzroy Regional Resilience Strategy

The Queensland Government has partnered with six councils to deliver the Fitzroy Regional Resilience Strategy, which uses a collaborative catchment approach for best practice management of flood warning infrastructure.

The purpose of the Strategy is to provide a consistent and coordinated approach to manage flood warning infrastructure throughout the region that will enhance community safety and resilience.

The Strategy has been developed in consultation with Central Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (CQROC); Banana Shire Council; Central Highlands Regional Council; Isaac Regional Council; Livingstone Shire Council; Rockhampton Regional Council; Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council;  with input from supporting stakeholder agencies including the Bureau of Meteorology, Fitzroy Basin Association and SunWater.

The Fitzroy Regional Resilience Strategy has been a pilot project for Resilient Queensland and is part of the Queensland Government’s commitment to support every region across the state with an individually-tailored regional resilience plan by 2022. It is anticipated that future actions for the Fitzroy Regional Resilience Strategy may include an integrated, multi-hazard and multidisciplinary approach to coordinating resilience actions across the Fitzroy region.

Video: Fitzroy Region - Understand Your Flood Risk (5 min)

Fitzroy - Flyover series

The 'Catchment guided tours' story map has been developed to support the Queensland Flood Warning Infrastructure Network Program being conducted throughout the state, and allows users to experience a series of interactive guided tours to visualise catchments in 3D flyover mode. Published by the Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy, the 'Fitzroy' tab includes flyovers of the Fitzroy River, Comet River, Dawson RiverIsaac River, Mackenzie River, and Nogoa River.